About Us

What We Believe

It used to be that writers had editors to watch their backs, but over the past century the literary agent has risen to stand by the writer, to help them birth their literary works, to polish them until they are ready for submission, and to help authors find the best publishing homes – eventually leading their works to widespread markets and audiences.

This is what we do at TRF. Whether you are a debut author just finishing your first novel, an expert, teacher or journalist working on a narrative non-fiction or prescriptive work, someone with a memoir or great life story to tell, or a graphic novelist, we’re interested in hearing from you – if you haven’t heard from us first.

Every agent at TRF is looking for work they can get excited about, in every genre and category. If you’re in the market, we encourage you to look at the agents here and see if one of them seems like the perfect business partner for you.

Film & TV

A strong story in book form is the perfect – and most common – raw material for film and TV adaptation. Selling great stories into other media is something we explore actively, with close ties to film and TV agents across the entertainment landscape, locally and internationally.

Origins

The Rights Factory was founded in 2004 with a handful of clients and a massive search for new talent in Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom. We now have nine different agents and represent hundreds of clients from around the world.

Editorial Feedback

We are an editorial agency and we will be tough on your work, because we are committed to developing your project until it is absolutely ready to take to market. Along the way, we will champion you across the industry and media and make sure what you wrote is seen by the best editors, and we will provide you with professional insight to help your project become the best book it can be, for the audience that will love it.

Staff

Lindsay Hollmann

Lindsay Hollmann graduated from York University in 2016, where she studied English Literature and Creative Writing. There, she developed her own particular writing style that was once compared to Chuck Palahniuk (she has yet to stop blushing). Lindsay specializes in writing fables for adults: irresistible medleys of talking animals and fantasy tropes with grown-up themes and dark subject matter. In 2017, she taught English in the Czech Republic, and documented the experience through a wide range of travel articles. Currently, Lindsay is working toward completing the Ryerson Chang School’s Publishing Certificate. In her spare time, Lindsay reads everything from Terry Pratchett to Diana Gabaldon. She spends time with her friends, family, and fiancé, all the while cuddling her rescue cat, Gordie.

Mara Bosloy

Mara Bosloy is a graduate of English Literature at York University and is currently enrolled in the Ryerson Chang School’s Publishing Certificate Program. While enrolled in the program, Mara has also worked on many copyediting gigs through the freelancing app Fiverr. Although Mara is usually able to pick up any book and enjoy it, she currently prefers to read crime fiction, psychological thrillers, and historical fiction. When she isn’t voraciously reading books, she’s hitting up all the best restaurants in Toronto

Victoria Loder

Rights Assistant

Victoria Loder is a freelance writer, editor, and publishing professional based just outside of Toronto. She holds an Honours B.A. in English and History from U of T and graduated from the Centennial College publishing program in 2017. Her writing, both fiction and academic, has won her awards from the University of Toronto, where she also served as Editor-in-Chief of Scarborough Fair magazine. She can often be found at her local Starbucks drinking a grande peppermint mocha (even in summer) and reading—historical fiction and mystery/thrillers are her favourites, but she also loves a good ghost story, or non-fiction in the vein of “Fat Girl Walking” or “Shrewed.”

Terri Brunsting

Editorial Assistant

Terri Brunsting is a graduate of the Humber Creative Book Publishing program, and is starting her dream career as an editor after years of teaching high school English and Drama. She likes to read everything under the sun, from literary fiction to Stephen King to YA to her old Babysitter’s Club books. In her spare time, she dabbles in community theatre.

Sam Hiyate

President

Since 1990 Sam has worked at literary magazines, small presses and with New York Times bestselling authors, editing and representing everything from debut fiction, memoir and narrative non-fiction to graphic novels. He has taught writing and publishing privately since 2000 and also at various universities. His most recent project is an online magazine, Don’t Talk to Me About Love, exploring love in literary and artistic works.